Cookies on this website

We use cookies to ensure that we give you the best experience on our website. If you click 'Accept all cookies' we'll assume that you are happy to receive all cookies and you won't see this message again. If you click 'Reject all non-essential cookies' only necessary cookies providing core functionality such as security, network management, and accessibility will be enabled. Click 'Find out more' for information on how to change your cookie settings.



The new core light microscope facility at the WIMM, the Wolfson Imaging Centre – Oxford, was officially opened on May 23, 2013. The establishment of this Centre has been made possible by a generous award of £1.5m from the Wolfson Foundation, and with additional funds provided by the MRC to the Director of the WIMM Prof. Doug Higgs, the Director of the MRC Human Immunology Unit Prof. Vincenzo Cerundolo and the Scientific Director of the Centre Dr. Christian Eggeling.

The official opening of the Centre was marked with a short scientific symposium. An introduction was given by Prof. Doug Higgs followed by an overview of the Centre from Dr. Christian Eggeling and the Facility Manager of the Centre Dr. Christoffer Lagerholm. Short talks providing examples of imaging work currently being undertaken were given by Dr. Lothar Schermelleh from the Micron Advanced Bioimaging Unit at Oxford University Department of Biochemistry, and by existing Imaging Centre users Drs. Jana Koth, Emily Thornton, Jakub Chojnacki and Veronica Buckle. Immediately following the presentations a small reception, sponsored by Carl Zeiss and Leica, was held in the WIMM lounge whilst groups of visitors were taken around the Imaging Centre.


Notable attendees at the event were the Chairman of the Board of Trustees of the Wolfson Foundation, Dame Janet Wolfson de Botton CBE, and Board of Trustees members the Honorable Mrs Laura Wolfson Townsley and Sir David Weatherall MD FRCP FRS. Also in attendance were the Vice-Chancellor of the University of Oxford Prof. Andrew Hamilton, Nobel Laureate Sir Tim Hunt who is also a member of the External Advisory Board of the WIMM, and the Programme Manager for Stem Cells, Developmental Biology, Regenerative Medicine and Haematology for the MRC Dr. Paul Colville-Nash.

Similar stories

MRC WIMM researchers win prestigious national awards

Congratulations to Prof Graham Ogg and Prof Paresh Vyas who have been named National Institute of Health Research (NIHR) Senior Investigators in recognition of their “outstanding contribution to clinical and applied health and social care research”. This is a tremendous achievement as these are highly competitive and prestigious awards.

Defining the role of lipids in skin inflammation

Congratulations to Prof Graham Ogg who has been awarded a Wellcome Trust Collaborative Award to investigate aspects of the immune response in skin diseases such as eczema, with the hope of identifying new treatment options.

New international collaborative network to study β-thalassaemia

A new grant from the UK Academy of Medical Sciences will allow clinicians and scientists from Oxford, Sri Lanka and Thailand to establish new ties to support research into β thalassaemia and benefit those most affected.

Clinical Fellowship Success

Congratulations to Dr James Davies and Dr Lynn Quek, who have both been awarded MRC Clinician Scientist Fellowships.

MRC HIU Group Leader in team shortlisted for £20m CRUK Grand Challenge Award

An international team of scientists has been shortlisted out of 134 applications spanning 41 countries.

UK-Turkey collaboration to accelerate cancer research progress

Researchers from the MRC HIU are taking part in a knowledge transfer programme funded by the European Association for Cancer Research, to share innovative microscopy techniques with a Turkish researcher.