Radiation Safety

Structure

WIMM Senior Radiation Protection Supervisor - Chris Newbold

WIMM Deputy Radiation Protection Supervisor - David Anderson

University Radiation Protection Officer - Mark Bradley

Radiation Technical Assistant - Gillian Jenkins

Radiation Safety Assistant - Simon Haycox

Registration

All radiation users must be registered. The registration forms are kept at the WIMM reception these must be filled out and signed the users supervisor and the groups Radiation protection supervisor (RPS) Registration of workers. See the university website for more information https://www1.admin.ox.ac.uk/safety/oxonly/ionisingradiation/regrad/ or contact David Anderson.

Local Rules

All users must read and abide by the local rules

Standard operating procedures and guidance

Current Risk Assessments

These are available on request from David Anderson. Those in use in a specific radiation suite are located in the yellow folder in the specific suite.

Blank risk assessment forms can be downloaded from here. Contact your local RPS or David Anderson if assistance is required filling in the form. You must include a copy of the method and waste stream calculations

Radiation Protection Supervisors

Radiation Suite 316 Chris Fisher chris.fisher@imm.ox.ac.uk
Radiation Suite 316 Jennifer Chambers  jennifer.chambers@spc.ox.ac.uk
Radiation Suite 358 Martin Brydson martin.brydson@ndcn.ox.ac.uk
Radiation Suite 358 Wei Liu wei.liu@ndcn.ox.ac.uk
Radiation Suite 416 Peter Thomas peter.thomas@oncology.ox.ac.uk
Radiation Suite 416 Anna Olsen     anna.olsen@oncology.ox.ac.uk
Molecular Parasitology Zoe Christodoulou zoe.christodoulou@imm.ox.ac.uk
Radiation store David Anderson david.anderson@imm.ox.ac.uk

Radiation Users

All radiation users must be registered. The registration forms are kept at the WIMM reception these must be filled out and signed the users supervisor and the groups Radiation protection supervisor (RPS) Registration of workers. See the University website for more information or contact David Anderson.

WIMM Radioactive SOP’s and Guidance

All users must read the WIMM SOP’s.
 
Risk assessment source on safety office website is here.
 
Safety office ionising radiation site is here.

Committee Members

Radiation safety meetings are included in the general safety committee meetings.

Professor Vincenzo Cerundolo  Chairman
Dr Kathryn Robson Vice Chairman and WIMM Safety Officer
Mr Alastair Waugh  Deputy WIMM DSO and HIU Lab Manager
Dr Allan Hayle  WIMM BSO and MHU Lab Manager
Prof Chris Newbold WIMM SRPS
Mr David Anderson WIMM DSRPS
Mr Malcolm Shepherd  WIMM Buildings Manager
Dr Stella Keeble WIMM Administrator
Mr Nigel Roberts  Minutes Secretary and MHU Rep
Prof Tao Dong  HIU CL3 manager
Mr Paul Sopp  FACS Facility Laser Safety
Dr Christoffer Lagerholm  Imaging Facility Manager Laser Safety
Mrs Jackie Sloane-Stanley  Transgenic facility and MHU Rep
Dr Zoe Christodoulou  Molecular Parasitology Rep
Mr Peter Thomas  Molecular Oncology Lab Manager
Mr Martin Brydson  Clinical Neurosciences Lab Manager
Dr. Nguyen Tran  HSC Lab Manager
Mrs Mary Deadman  Paediatrics Lab Manager
Prof Christian Eggeling  Imaging and HIU Rep
Dr Graham Ross/Dr Julie Hamilton  Medical Sciences DSOs
Mr Andrew Thompson/Mrs Tracey Mustoe  University BSO/Deputy
Dr Neil Ashley Single cell platform manager
Dr Philip Hublitz Head of GE services
Dr Fabrizio Miranda  WIMM Fellows Rep/postdoc rep
Pei-Jin Lim  Drakesmith Group /student rep