External Recognition

chromosomes banner_short

External Recognition of the Institute

The Institute was awarded the prestigious Queen’s Anniversary Prize for Higher and Further Education by Her Majesty the Queen in February 1997.  The citation states, “this is an exceptional and successful new approach to a crucial field of science. It has rapidly established recognition as a world-class centre of excellence and has a profound influence in the development of molecular medicine internationally”. The leading role of the Institute in translational medical research in the UK was highlighted in the Cooksey Report into Medical Research in 2006.

pipetting3The work of the Institute has been recognised by the receipt of several national and international awards by its scientists.

Group leaders in the WIMM have received the Louis Jeantet Prize, the Helmut Horten Foundation Award, the Gaetano Conte Award, the Royal and Buchanan Medals of the Royal Society, the Gold Medal of the Royal Society of Medicine, the Sheikh Hamdan Award, the Novartis Immunology Prize, the Ernst Chain Prize, the Gairdner Award, the Oon International Prize and Award for Preventive Medicine and the Mack Foster Prize. Group leaders have obtained highly competitive Howard Hughes Awards and the Elizabeth Glaser Award of the Pediatric AIDS Foundation.

Since its foundation, the WIMM has hosted 14 Fellows of the Royal Society. In addition, we currently host 16 Fellows of the Academy of Medical Sciences and 10 members of EMBO.  The first Director was also elected to Foreign Membership of the National Academy of Sciences, USA.